top of page

Is RELIGION a hindrance in love?


Way back 2013, I remembered having a short-term relationship with someone who's different religion with mine.

We got along well, he seemed to be so kind, we took time to have a date but we didn't take our relationship of being a couple. We just enjoyed our company and hang out if he have time. I always depend on his schedule because he live far my place.

At first, I didn't mind having that kind of feelings with him because I didn't take it seriously but as days passed by,

I fell in love so I make it sure with him that everything seemed to be working out for us knowing that he has a different religion with me. I just want to make everything settled but I am a risk taker type of person so, I go for it and made everything real for us. Everyday, we talked over the phone, he called me if he have time, I waited for his call patiently even at times I felt so bored of waiting. I felt excited every time we meet. We usually went to Starbucks, IT PARK because it's easier to reach that destination from my place and to his place but we only got along for few hours and then we then went back home. We tried to work it out and talked things over with the thought of having different belief. We talked over about the consequences and when we opened that topic to each other, we just fought about it and it's a bit complicated for us. I then diverted our fight to finish it over because we don't really have the same thoughts and it's always an issue for us because I am Catholic and he's Jehovah Witnesses. There were many things I learned from his faith which is really far from what I believe in. Though, I had great respect on him but the thought that we are so dedicated with our religion, we then decided to stop our relationship. . .


This story of mine is for my friend who requested to write about LOVE AND RELIGION thingy.

As for me, I think having relationship with someone who seem to have different belief with mine is quite a complicated thing because I really have a strong stand for my religion. I don't have against with couple who were able to manage this kind of circumstance but as it goes for me, it's a problem. First thing I think is for my future children to go to only one church.

I want to build a family where I can go to a united Church with my future husband and my kids.

Second, I don't want arguments and fights against religion stands and all. I am thinking that what if one day, I settled with someone who keeps on comparing my thoughts with his thoughts especially the way of living and with the things I believe in. We might end up having disputes all the time and I don't want that to happen. I want to be with someone who I can share the same ideas with which is I believe that if he loves me, he loves my religion as well.


I don't want to conclude everything based on my experiences because I think every individual have different stories to tell. With this thought of loving someone with different religion is not really a hindrance to deepen the love and to let it grow. There are just many things to think before engaging into this kind of relationship.


•Love and Respect. You both know that you have a lot of differences; so show respect with each other's beliefs.

If you know how to respect, everything will run smoothly in your relationship.


•Don't spend too much time talking about your differences and religion. Have a mindset of settling everything in the first phase of your relationship.You must set rules that religion should never be an issue between you both and don't talk about it all the time. Just let it be and just love the person without overthinking. Believe that it will work out.


•Deepen your relationship. Despite of the fact that you two have big gap with religious belief, take time to bond with him/her. Know the person more and don't judge the person basing on his/her stand about life and God. Go out and watch movie together, go to cafe shops, shop together, laugh with him/ her, share your ideas in the future together and etc. There are many useful things that you can do together as a couple, so enjoy what you have. Don't mind what other people say.


•If things get rough, talk it over and fix the issue right away. When you love the person, you don't want to build hatred in your relationship right? So, make sure that before the day ends, solve the problem together with your partner, eat your pride, when you know that it was your fault, apologize and be sincere in saying sorry. You want to keep him/ her with you, right? so, do it and be passionate all the time.


•Just love. You know when you're inlove and when you love the person. You give all, your time, effort, heart, mind and everything. You take risks, so if religion seems to be a block to your love, relax... Take it easy. You choose to love the person because it's what your heart decided to do, so be inlove. It may be a problem but later on, it will find a way. LOVE will find a way, you can find a way, he/she can find a way, make it last if you like it to happen. RELIGION is not really a hindrance, just know your stand and be respectful, that's what matters most. And if you know that you can't stand having commitment with different religion, DON'T FALL INLOVE AND DON'T LOVE THE PERSON anyway. Don't complicate things. Always remember, God never set us into a situation that will make us feel bad with things. He surely wants to give whats best for us and will match us in perfect time. So, don't regret things that will come your way, even loving a person who's different from your stand. Enjoy it and feel the love while it's there. You don't know HE or SHE is the one for you. Just pray and everything will work out.

Have faith. ❤


FEATURED POSTS

TWITTER FEED

MY ARCHIVES

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page